Stone rocks Orsett as Belhus CC take U12 indoor jewels

Belhus Cricket Club’s under twelve indoor cricket “A” team (pictured, right) were crowned champions on Friday following a 27-run win over Thurrock “B”.  Belhus CC U12 Indoor Champions 2011-2012But even this could not detract from a sensational individual performance by Horndon’s Daniel Stone who hit six sixes and one four from a single over in a magnificent 65 not out against the Orsett “A” team.

The final week of the competition saw three teams, Belhus “A”, Horndon on the Hill and Orsett “A” still vying for the title, but the issue was quickly resolved when the first of these three teams in action, Belhus “A”, maintained their 100% record.  The eventual winners suffered an early set back when both openers, Joshua Reynolds and Tyler Kohl were dismissed cheaply by a keen Thurrock “B” attack, but they were able to rally as Eathan Morris and Ben Garwood steadied the ship.  They both scored 16 runs as their team finished on 75 for the loss of five wickets.  In reply, Thurrock “B” were dismissed for 48 with the Belhus bowling attack on top form.   Morris and Kohl claimed 2-6 and 2-4 respectively.

Thanks to Stone’s heroics, Horndon amassed the highest team score in this year’s U12 event with 148, for the loss of four wickets, as Stone finished with a batting average of 184.  The talented player had earlier retired on 25 as required by the regulations, but returned to hit 40 runs off the final over of Horndon’s innings.  His six sixes were supplemented as one of those six hits was achieved off a no-ball.  A boundary four completed the run rampage.

Callum Newton, as ever, produced runs in a highly productive opening partnership with Stone.  Newton finished on 27 not out and took his competition tally to 153 runs without being dismissed.  Orsett “A” responded with 75 all out, for whom Dylan Rose top scored with 28 not out.  Stone, 2-12, and Newton, 2-0, claimed the lion’s share of the wickets.  Horndon finished in second place, with Orsett “A” in third.  For full details of the competition, including full results summary and final league table, please click here.