Orsett Show Produces our U14 Indoor Champions

Orsett CC U14 Indoor Champions 2011-2012Orsett Cricket Club became the South Essex District Cricket Board’s U14 indoor champions in a tense final week of competition at Grays School.  The drama began when Stanford le Hope, needing a win to clinch the title, lost by four wickets.  Then Orsett A secured the title by defeating Rayleigh by five wickets in the following match.  Orsett scored 59 for the loss of three wickets from 9.1 overs in reply to Rayleigh’s 59 for three.  Tom Haden was the star of the Orsett show by taking two wickets at a cost of just four runs and then hit 20 not out.  Jack Plom added valuable support with 1-10 and Joe Mitchell scored ten runs.  For Rayleigh, Joshua Jones hit 25 not out while Matthew Dobson scored 18 and took 1-17 from two overs.

Stanford’s reverse came at the hands of an excellent performance from Horndon on the Hill.  The Hope were dismissed for 52, but it could have been much worse had it not been for a defiant knock of 25 from Callum McCarthy.  Luke Smith and Daniel Petts were destructive with the ball for Horndon as they returned figures of 3-6 and 2-9 respectively.   Petts then continued to turn the screw still further with a fine undefeated 23 while Sam Jeyes was also unbeaten, scoring 22.   For full details of the competition, see the U14 indoor page from the menu on the right.