Belhus CC win Veterans’ Trophy for First Time

Belhus Cricket Club won the South Essex District Cricket Board’s Veterans’ Trophy for the first time when they overcame a strong Stanford le Hope batting line-up in the final on Tuesday evening (26th July 2011). Stanford, on their own ground, batted first and reached 134 for the loss of six wickets, as one of our Vice-Presidents, Geoff Lake, contributed 21, Robert Pearn made 13, Duncan Page top-scored with 29 and Chris Ballard was there at the end of the innings, undefeated on 22. Richard Waters was the most successful Belhus bowler, picking up 3-25 from his allotted four-over spell and he was supported by Scott Bayford 2-28, also from four overs. In the reply, Belhus opener Jim Robertson was off to a flyer with a fine knock of 58 until he was caught by Lake off the bowling of Ballard (1-12), but by then Belhus were within easy reach of the Stanford score as Amit Gohil finished on 34 not out, while there was a useful contribution of 29 from Bayford in the middle of the innings. As well as Ballard, four other Stanford bowlers took one wicket each, being Harris, Knight, Powley and Gray.