Stanford le Hope CC are 2010 Knock-out Champions

Stanford le Hope were the winners of the 2010 knock-out competition after defeating host club Thurrock by four wickets at Blackshots. Winning the toss and electing to bat, Stanford posted a match-winning score of 131 for 6, for whom the main contributors were Robert Page, 23, Martin Leslie, 22 and Matthew Page, also scoring 22, despite the best efforts of Thurrock’s Brooks, who returned 2-13 from his alloted four overs. After the break, Thurrock were off to a flyer as Ayub and Stanikzai scored freely, reaching 32 and 37 respectively. But Ross Poulton turned the game Stanford’s way as he produced identical bowling figures to the earlier performance of Brooks. With another Stanford spinner – this time Neil Samwell, who claimed 1-15 from four overs, the lid was firmly placed on the Thurrock reply as they fell just short of the target, producing a final tally of 123 for the loss of eight wickets.